Orange County Car Accident Lawyers
Getting in a car accident is scary enough. Getting injured and being unable to pay your medical bills is terrifying. The driver whose fault it was for injuring you is liable for your medical expenses, pain and suffering and loss of income and future earnings. However, the driver's insurance company will not want to pay you for your injuries. In fact, they will call you a liar and claim that you are not even injured. This can be extremely frustrating especially when you are trying to recover from your injuries, get medical treatment and not miss work or family time. After all, it was not your fault that some careless driver crashed into your car causing injury to you and your passengers.
Our Orange County Car Accident Lawyers are professionally trained to deal with insurance companies. We understand the games they play and have an inside perspective on how to obtain maximum value for your car accident injury. We have recovered millions of dollars in car accident cases for thousands of car accident victims just like you. If finding the best attorney you can find and getting as much money as possible for your injury is important to you, then you came to the right place. Let us tell you all the information you need to know if you are injured in a car accident and want to file an injury claim.
Get The Most Money For Your Car Accident Injury
The reason to file a car accident injury claim is to get the most money for the harm you suffered as a result of someone else's negligent conduct. Our car accident lawyers know that when you have been injured in a car accident, you want to received the maximum money for your injuries as quickly as possible. That is why we offer you a dedicated team to handle your car accident injury claim as efficiently as possible. We fight for you with our power, resources and experience to get you the most money we possible can.
California Car Accident Laws
There are two main sources of California law that apply to car accident injury claims:
- Laws that determine who is financially responsible for a car accident; and
- Laws that govern traffic and rule of the road - the California Vehicle Code.
Who Is Financially Responsible For A Car Accident?
Liability of Private Owners
California Vehicle Code § 17150 states that every owner of a motor vehicle is liable and responsible for the death or injury to others resulting from a negligent or wrongful act or omission in the operation of the motor vehicle, by any person using or operating the motor vehicle with the permission of the owner.
California Vehicle Code § 17151 limits a non-driver owner's liability to $15,000 for the death of or injury to one person in any one accident and, up to $30,000 for the death of or injury to more than one person in any one accident. The non-driver owner' liability for property damage is limited to $5,000 in any one accident. Punitive damages (damages meant to punish one's conduct) are generally not available against a non-driver owner of a motor vehicle for the wrongful conduct of the driver of the vehicle, but may be imposed against the owner for his or her own wrongful conduct. (Example: Allowing a clearly intoxicated person drive his or her motor vehicle).